VJ Ruby Bhatia shares her philosophy

Ruby Bhatia:

My philosophy of life is the ancient eightfold yoga outlined by Patanjali, as mentioned in the book, Autobiography of a Yogi by Sri Paramhansa Yogananda.

The first two steps yama and niyama, both require observance of ten negative and positive moralities. These are avoidance of injury to others, of untruthfulness, of stealing, of incontinence, of gift receiving (which brings obligations); and purity of body and mind, contentment, self-discipline, study, and devotion to God.

The next steps are asana (right posture); pranayama (control of Prana, or subtle life currents); pratyahara (withdrawal of the senses from external objects). The last steps are forms of yoga proper: dharna (concentration) or holding the mind to one thought; dhyana (meditation), and samadhi (super conscious perception).

This is the Eightfold Path of Yoga which leads one to the final goal of 'realization of the Truth beyond all intellectual apprehension.”


blog comments powered by Disqus

very precise, clear and informative article ............good work.

rinks on Saturday, May 24, 2008

Excellent info on treating IBS... Keep it up!

whatalala on Monday, September 8, 2008

Wise men only strengthen the faith